Top Attractions under 12 headings

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinrssyoutube

Many families are deciding to remain in the UK instead of holidaying abroad making a new trend called ‘Staycation.’  Below are places to visit that will suit every interest.

london-1498677_1280

Scroll down to view all listings

1 Major Farms
2 Major Wildlife Attractions
3 Major Historic Properties
4 Major Leisure/Theme Parks
5 Major Gardens
6 Major Country Parks
7 Major Places of Work
8 Major Places of Worship
9 Major Other Attractions
10 Major Steam/heritage railways
11 Major Museums/art gallaries
12 Major vistor/heritage centres1. Major Farms

Attraction
Web Address
Godstone Farm, Godstone www.godstonefarm.co.uk
Horton Park Children’s Farm, Epsom www.hortonpark.co.uk
Fishers Farm Park, Wisborough Green, West Sussex www.fishersfarmpark.co.uk
Hatton Country World Farm Park, Hatton, Warwickshire www.hattonworld.com
Woodside Animal Farm & Wildfowl Park, Slip End,
Luton
www.woodsidefarm.co.uk
Cannon Hall Open Farm, Cawthome. South Yorkshire www.cannonhallfarm.co.uk
White Post Modern Farm, Notts www.whitepostfarmcentre.co.uk

2. Major Wildlife Attractions

Attraction
Website/Web Address
London Zoo, London www.londonzoo.co.uk www.londonzoo.co.uk
Bristol Zoo Gardens, Clifton, Bristol www.bristolzoo.org.uk
Blue Planet, Ellesmere Port www.blueplanetaquarium.com
Edinburgh Zoo, Edinburgh www.edinburghzoo.org.uk
Twycross Zoo, Twycross, Leicestershire www.twycrosszoo.com
Colchester Zoo, Stanway www.colchester-zoo.co.uk
Chester Zoo, Chester www.demon.co.uk/chesterzoo

3. Major Historical Properties

Attraction
Website/Web Address
Tower of London, London www.aboutbritain.com/TowerOfLondon.htm
Edinburgh Castle, Edinburgh www.aboutbritain.com/EdinburghCastle.htm
Windsor Castle, Windsor www.royalcollection.org.uk/visit/windsorcastle
Roman Baths, Bath www.romanbaths.co.uk
Stonehenge, Arnesbury www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/stonehenge/history/
Hampton Court Palace, Hampton Court www.aboutbritain.com/HamptonCourtPalace.htm
Chatsworth House, Bakewell www.aboutbritain.com/chatsworth.htm
Leeds Castle, Maidstone www.aboutbritain.com/leedscastle.htm
Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth www.historicdockyard.co.uk

4. Major Leisure / Theme Parks

Attraction
Website/Web Address
Blackpool Pleasure Beach, Blackpool www.blackpoolpleasurebeach.com
Pleasureland Theme Park, Southport  http://southportpleasureland.com
Clacton Pier, Clacton-on-Sea  http://www.clactonpier.co.uk
Legoland Windsor, Windsor www.lego.com/eng/legoland/windsor
Pleasure Beach, Great Yarmouth www.pleasure-beach.co.uk
Flamingo Land Theme Park & Zoo, Kirby Misperton,
North Yorkshire
www.flamingoland.co.uk
Alton Towers www.altontowers.com

5. Major Gardens

Attraction
Website/Web Address
Kew Gardens, Richmond www.rbgkew.org.uk
Royal Botanic Garden, Edinburgh Scotland www.rbge.org.uk
Wisley Garden, Wisley www.aboutbritain.com/rhsgardenwisley.htm
Botanic Gardens, Belfast, N. Ireland  Botanic Gardens Belfast
Cardwell Nursery Garden Centre, Gourock Scotland www.cardwellgardencentre.co.uk
Glasgow Botanic Gardens, Glasgow, Scotland  www.glasgowbotanicgardens.com
Paradise Park, Newhaven www.paradisepark.co.uk
Westonbirt Arboretum. Westonbirt, Gloucestershire Westonbirt Glouscestershire

6. Major Country Parks

Attraction
Website/Web Address
Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell Scotland www.activitypoint.co.uk/en/e00/00163.htm
Sutton Park, Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands www.birminghamuk.com/suttonpark.htm
Thetford Forest Park, Santon Downham, Suffolk Thetford Forest Park
Ashton Court Estate, Long Ashton, Bristol Ashton Court Estate
Fairlands Valley Park, Stevenage www.stevenage-leisure.co.uk/fairlands
Cannon Hill Park, Moseley, Birmingham www.birminghamuk.com/cannonhill.htm
Drumpelher Country Park, Scotland Drumpelher Country Park
Beacon Fell Country Park, Goosnargh, Lancashire Beacon Fell Country Park
Blaise Castle Estate, Henbury, Bristol www.aboutbritain.com/
BlaiseCastleHouseMuseum.htm
Pugneys Country Park, Wakefield Pugneys Country Park

7. Major Places of Work

Attraction
Website/Web Address
Poole Pottery, Poole  www.poolepottery.co.uk
Blakemere Craft Centre, Northwich. Cheshire  www.blakemerevillage.com
Denbies Wine Estate, Dorking www.denbiesvineyard.co.uk
Wroxham Barns, Hoveton, Norfolk www.wroxham-barns.co.uk
Beckhurst Glass, Glass Studio, Eastbourne www.pierglassstudio.co.uk
Ye Olde Pork Pie Shoppe, Melton Mowbray www.porkpie.co.uk
The Ice Cream Farm, Cheshire www.theicecreamfarm.co.uk
Baxters Highland Village, Fochabers Scotland www.baxters.com/highlandvillage
Adrian Sankey Glass, Ambleside  www.glassmakers.co.uk

8. Major Places of Worship

Attraction
Website/Web Address
York Minster, York www.yorkminster.org
Canterbury Cathedral, Canterbury www.canterbury-cathedral.org
Westminster Abbey, London www.westminster-abbey.org
Chester Cathedral, Chester www.chestercathedral.org.uk
St Paul’s Cathedral, London www.stpauls.co.uk
St Martin-in-the-Fields, London www.stmartin-in-the-fields.org
Durham Cathedral, Durham www.durhamcathedral.co.uk
Exeter Cathedral, Exeter www.exeter-cathedral.org.uk

9. Major Other Attractions

Attraction
Website/Web Address
British Airways London Eye, London www.londoneye.com
Eden Project, StAustell2 www.edenproject.com
Windermere Lake Cruises, Ambleside www.windermere-lakecruises.co.uk
Mersey Ferries, Wallasey www.merseyferries.co.uk
Lynton & Lynmouth Cliff Railway, Lynmouth, Devon www.cliffrailwaylynton.co.uk
Foxton Boat Services, Foxton, Leicestershire www.foxtonboats.co.uk
Wood Green Animal Shelters, Godmanchester, Cambridgeshire www.woodgreen.org.uk
Dalby Forest Drive & Visitor Centre, Low Dalby,
North Yorkshire
www.touristnetuk.com/ne/forest-enterprise
Stuart Line Cruises, Exmouth www.stuartlinecruises.co.uk

10 . Major Steam / Heritage Railways

Attraction
Website/Web Address
North Yorkshire Moors Railway, Pickering www.nymr.demon.co.uk
Severn Valley Railway, Bewdley, Worcestershire www.svr.co.uk
Swanage Railway. Swanage www.swanagerailway.co.uk
Bluebell Railway, Sheffield Park. East Sussex www.bluebell-railway.co.uk/
West Somerset Railway. Minehead www.west-somerset-railway.co.uk
Romney, Hythe & Dymchurch Railway, New Romney www.rhdr.demon.co.uk
North Bay Miniature Railway, Scarborough  www.nbr.org.uk
Brookside Miniature Railway, Poynton, Cheshire www.brookside-miniature-railway.co.uk

11 . Major Museums / Art Galleries

Attraction
Website/Web Address
National Gallery, London www.nationalgallery.org.uk
British Museum, London www.thebritishmuseum.ac.uk
Tate Modern, London www.tate.org.uk
Natural History Museum, London www.nhm.ac.uk/
Victoria & Albert Museum, London www.vam.ac.uk
Science Museum, London www.sciencemuseum.org.uk
National Portrait Gallery, London www.npg.org.uk
Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, Glasgow  Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, Glasgow
Tate Britain, London www.tate.org.uk/britain/default.htm
Royal Academy of Arts. London www.royalacademy.org.uk

12 . Major Visitor / Heritage Centres

Attraction
Website/Web Address
Somerset House, London www.somerset-house.org.uk
World Famous Old Blacksmith’s Shop CentreGretna Green www.dumfriesmuseum.demon.co.uk
/smithy.html
New Lanark Village & Visitor Centre, Lanark www.newlanark.org
Lulworth Cove Heritage Centre, Wareham, Dorset www.lulworth.com
Giants Causeway Visitor Centre, Bushmills www.nationaltrust.org.uk
Rheged The Village in the Hill. Penrith www.rheged.com
Burns National Heritage Park, Ayr www.burnsheritagepark.com
Shakespeare’s Globe Exhibition, London www.shakespeares-globe.org